You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 13, 2016.

Today is my son, Will Lloyd’s fortieth birthday.  In two days, my brother will be sixty, and in three days I will be seventy.  Let the letter writing begin.  

Dear Will,

The best way for me to wish you a Happy Birthday would be in writing and pictures.  So here it goes.

As you know, you were born William Stacy Lloyd around 4PM on February 13th, a Friday. Your were named after my father and your dad,  and there was great rejoicing.  The world became a better place with your birth.  We had you  Christened at two weeks so your grandfather could attend since he was so ill.

Here are three pictures:  One the day of your birth, your Christening picture with your name sake grandfather, and a picture I loved with you and your father.ScanDaddy's story part 3-5


will and dad four months-1

At the time of your birthday party last week, your wife Kara asked me for some favorite pictures.  These are the ones I sent her and a few more

will 40th birthday-3Scanned Image 121670000philip and Will 1976-1
will 40th birthday-7 Will dancingStacy and I will holly speedboat disney-3Stacy and I will holly speedboat disneywill 40th birthday-11

will 40th birthday-5

will 40th birthday-13

 

When any child is born, responsible parents do the best they can, and just live their life as a family. And  indeed we did.  With three older half siblings and seventeen months later a sister, and the age of your parents, there were real almost four generations in one family at the time of your birth.

Your dad was always so proud of his five children!

Stacy and 5 children 2-1 Stacy and 5 children 2 Stacy and 5 children IM_A0111 stacy last christmas 5 children -1

But that is you original Fredericksburg family.  The large extended family in Cleveland we spent a lot of time visiting through the years.  And your Uncle Jonathan’s family in New Jersey. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA uncle george and family uncle george and kids-4 IMG_0454 Scan 113410002
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I
 could be here all day writing and posting pictures of all the fun times we had.  The first twenty years filled about fifty photo albums.

But also in your life you had a lot of life long friends.  The pictures I shared with your video were these:  Your best friend, Jimmy and Dave who went on all our vacations with us.will 40th birthday-1 will and jimmy shepard-1 photoIMG_0035

And if I started listing all the vacations, the trips to Myrtle Beach, On the QE2, to Florida and Walt Disney World, to Bermuda, to Europe twice this blog would go on forever. And this is just your first 18 years.

Then you went to Randolph Macon College, and your sister attended with you the next year.  At the end of the first two decades, your mom had a medical crises going on.  It was then that I realized just what kind of man you had become.  The support you gave me, and  the essay you wrote about my illness while you were in college makes me cry every time I read it
which leads me to the second half of your life.

You met the love of your life in College and Kara and you built a life together from that time forward.  So the second 20 years was filled with graduating from Randolph Macon College, and doing jobs in the sales field that not every person can do.  Whether it was with the Richmond Times Dispatch early on or medical type of sales, your personality was a perfect combo with your career.

Your father was so proud as was I watching you mature and find your way in the world.  We were so overjoyed with your marriage and Holly’s wedding.

Scan 113420000

 

Now the last ten years alone would fill another 20 photo albums and 25,000 digital pictures but through it all.

But here are some favorites:  Babies 0382006_10033and4months0045 Babies 054 DSCF1908

fall 08 07 044 DSCF2077
fall 08 07 128pic019fall 08 07 054 fall 08 07 128fall 08 07 115
And then before you know it everybody grew and grew and grew.

9930_1219832892710_1135556973_710977_3316762_s IMG_0091 IMG_1743IMG_1025

Image 1 (1)

I left out the part of your father’s passing.  But you gave him such joy with your family, with your support when he was ill.  I know he is looking down and smiling at you and wishing you a Happy Birthday too!

And he is proud of the way you all take care of your mom!

So now I am back to the beginning.  Wishing you a Happy Birthday my son.  I love you dearly.  And I can’t help notice that you look and act very much like your grandfather.  He was an honorable, kind, friendly, smart, well loved man, and great father just like you.


Daddy's story part 3-3Daddy's story part 3-4
There you both are at the same age.  I love you Will.  My firstborn son!  Happy 40th  Birthday!!

IMG_5251 DSC_0031 DSC_0021

Love, Mom

P.S.  Your wife gave you a terrific birthday party!  It was so wonderful seeing your old high school and college friends again.

 

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 168 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 9,187 hits
February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29